Arlington, Va. – The Clifford H. “Ted” Rees, Jr. Scholarship Foundation, a 501(c)(3) charitable foundation of the Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI), and the Air Conditioning Contractors of America (ACCA), announced scholarship awards totaling $74,000 to 40 students, including one military veteran program recipient, studying to become technicians in the HVACR and water heating industry.


“We are pleased to award scholarships to these qualified and dedicated students and veterans, and we hope to eventually welcome them into the industry,” said AHRI President and CEO Stephen Yurek. “Each year, the Foundation provides aid to an increasing number of recipients, helping to promote careers in the industry and fill good-paying jobs that cannot be outsourced.”


“Developing quality workers is a critical initiative that everyone in our industry is working together to accomplish,” said ACCA President and CEO Paul T. Stalknecht. “We are proud to partner with the Rees Scholarship Foundation and AHRI to give these hard-working students and veterans scholarships to help them continue their education, which will develop into a strong workforce for our industry’s future.”

HVACR and Water Heating Technician Program Recipients (partial list):
Adrain Behn,Green Country Technology Center, Okmulgee, OK
Christian Castillo, Tyler Junior College West Campus, Tyler, TX
Dwoodson Fuller, Green Country Technology Center, Okmulgee, OK
Jeffrey Headrick    , Tyler Junior College, Tyler, TX
Jessy Garcia Olivia, Tulsa Tech Center, Tulsa, OK
Luis Cervantes, Lone Star College, Houston, TX
Philip Fernandez, South Central Louisiana Technical College, Reserve, LA
Rex Allbritton Jr., Green Country Technical Institute, Okmulgee, OK
Ruben Carreon, Tyler Junior College, Tyler, TX
Zachary Hutto, Green Country Technology Center, Okmulgee, OK


Since the Rees Scholarship Foundation was founded in 2003, it has awarded more than $700,000 in scholarships to more than 400 deserving students and instructors. For a list of past scholarship recipients,